Friday, November 23, 2012

MWW 34: Төгрөг - Part II

This post is turning out to be pretty long, so I'm splitting it. How about some pictures of төгрөг? Mongolia doesn't use coins, only paper money. The bills come in 11 denominations: 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, 1000, 5000, 10,000, and 20,000 tugrug. Each of the different bills is printed in a different color or set of colors, and with a slightly different size (larger denominations have larger bills). With the exception of the 1-tugrug note (which is almost never used anymore), the small denominations (5-100 tugrug) have a picture of D. Sukhbaatar, and the larger denominations (500-20,000) have a picture of Chinggis (Genghis) Khaan.

1 Төгрөг

The one-tugrug note has a very stylized lion on the front. It is the only note that doesn't have a human image on it.

5 Төгрөг 

10 Төгрөг 

20 Төгрөг 

50 Төгрөг

100 Төгрөг

500 Төгрөг

1000 Төгрөг

5000 Төгрөг

10,000 Төгрөг

20,000 Төгрөг

1 comment:

  1. Their bills are much more elaborate than ours